Teak

Our colonial furniture is handmade and manufactured from high quality old Burma teak. This is a strong and solid kind of wood that, unlike young teak, has a high density, and therefore quite resistant to changes in heat and humidity. You are not only having a beautiful showpiece in your home, but you also help nature. The old teak that is used to make our furniture, is in fact recovered from wooden parts of dilapidated houses and old furniture. Therefore we can offer you new furniture from old teak and restored old furniture.

Because of qualitative consideration we only sell furniture from the following kinds of wood:


Birma Teak houtsoort koloniale meubelenBurma Teak
: a qualitative and solid wood from Myanmar. It is a very solid and old kind of teak and does not suffer from shrinkage cracks.

Mango: a tropical hardwood with a fine grain. Furniture made from this wood has a warm and solid appearance, that is because of the grain pattern and changing colors.

 

Manufacturing

The furniture is made by hand with great care. No modern machines or instruments are used during the manufacture. Therefore every piece of furniture is truly unique and has its own character. This is real craftsmanship and a guarantee of unbeatable quality.

The artisans who produce the furniture with great devotion for us, receive a fair salary for their work and are not exploited. Basic human rights are very important to us. We guarantee our customers that we do not tolerate people who do not respect those principles.

Teck

Nos meubles coloniaux sont tous faits main à partir du vieux teck de Birmanie. C’est un bois solide qui, contrairement au jeune teck, possède une forte densité et est donc très résistant aux variations de chaleur et d’humidité. Vous n’apportez pas seulement une esthétique exotique dans votre maison, mais vous nous aidez également à protéger l’environnement. Le teck ancien utilisé est toujours récupéré de pièces de bois des maisons et meubles anciens. Ainsi, pouvons-nous vous proposer des nouveaux meubles en teck ancien, ou des vieux meubles restaurés, lorsque leur état le permet.

Pour répondre à nos exigences de qualité, nous ne vendons que des meubles dont le bois provient des espèces suivantes :


Birma Teak houtsoort koloniale meubelen
Teck birman : c’est un bois solide et de grande qualité du Myanmar qui ne souffre pas de fissurations.

Mango : c’est un bois tropical à grain fin. Les meubles fabriqués à partir de ce bois ont une apparence chaleureuse et solide. Les motifs du bois et sa couleur sont changeants.

 

 

Fabrication

Chaque meuble est soigneusement confectionné à la main. Nous n’utilisons aucune machine ou aucun instrument moderne de mesure et de coupure. C’est pour cela que chaque meuble est unique et possède son caractère. Ce travail d’artisanat uniquement traditionnel est la garantie d’une qualité inégalable.

Les artisans qui confectionnent ces meubles pour vous avec savoir sont rémunérés équitablement et ne sont pas exploités. Nous nous penchons sur une observance stricte du bon respect des principes à la base des droits fondamentaux de l’homme et du travail.